Payday Advance EugeneIndiana Payday LoansBuy Viagra Vardenafil CialisGoogleNews

Free computer workshops focusing on word processing, spreadsheets, desktop publishing, social media, and e-mail will be offered this spring and into June at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library.
Workshops will be taught by the library Information Technology Coordinator Christopher Brannon using the library’s laptop lab in the Gozzer Room. Space is limited. To reserve a seat call 208-769-2315 Ext. 456.
Participants are asked to arrive 15 minutes prior to the start of the workshop to check in and secure a seat. Seats not filled by the time the workshop begins will be given to stand-bys. All participants should have basic typing skills and a basic knowledge of computers.
Upcoming workshops include:
► Basics in Excel - Part 1: Monday, May 11, 10:30 a.m. to noon - Have long lists of numbers or information that need taming or calculating? A spreadsheet can help. We’ll help you explore and understand the parts of the spreadsheet, basic formulas, basic formatting, and editing.
► Basics in Excel - Part 2: Monday, May 18, 10:30 a.m. to noon - Spreadsheets do much more than crunch numbers. Join us to learn about Excel’s database functionality, creating charts and graphs, and creating formulas more efficiently on the run.
► Basics in Publisher: Monday, June 1, 10:30 to noon - Have a quick project, such as creating a sign or business card? Need to whip up a quick brochure? You might want to create your project in Publisher. Microsoft Publisher is a desktop publishing program which makes creating signs, cards, banners, brochures, business cards, and other types of documents a quick task, not a chore.
► Working with Facebook:  Monday, June 8, 5:30-7:00 p.m. – As one of the most popular social networking tools on the Internet, Facebook is a great tool for finding, connecting and communicating with friends old and new.  We’ll explore the many aspects of Facebook, while pointing out important features to keep your information safe and private.  This workshop requires that you have already signed up for an e-mail and Facebook account.  If you need assistance creating accounts, please refer to our “Creating an E-mail Account” and “Creating a Facebook Account” brochures.
► Basics in PowerPoint: Monday, June 15, 10:30 a.m. to noon - If you have information that needs to be communicated effectively in a staff meeting, to a class, or just need information on display, consider using PowerPoint. Our workshop will provide the basic skills to begin creating visual presentations. We’ll guide you through slide manipulation, object use, transitions, and helpful hints for creating an effective presentation.
► Working with E-mail: Monday, June 22, 5:30-7 p.m. - E-mailing has become an important tool in today’s communication, both at home and at work.  Together we will go over the basic skills necessary to send and receive e-mails, and other common tasks.  All examples are done in Yahoo! mail. This workshop requires that you have already signed up for an e-mail account.  If you need assistance creating an account, please refer to our “Creating an E-mail Account” brochure.

Patrons who need accommodation to participate in library programs or services are asked to contact the staff prior to the activity by calling 208-769-2315.

The Pageturners Library Book Club at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library will start the new year discussing biographies and autobiographies as part of the Let’s Talk About It (LTAI) program.
Book discussions to be offered January through May at the library the fourth Wednesday of each month at 10:15 a.m. will use books provided by the Idaho Commission for Libraries. Scholars to lead the discussions are provided by the Idaho Humanities Council. Additional support is provided by the US Bancorp Foundation and the Institute of Museums and Library Services.
Local support is provided by the Friends of the Coeur d’Alene Public Library.
Book club discussions are free and open to any adult reader. Books and discussion materials will be available to check out at the library’s Research and Information Desk. Discussions are held in the Community Room. (The group does not meet during December.)
Dates, titles, and discussion leaders include:
► Jan. 28: “Bloodlines” by Janet Campbell Hale, a collection of autobiographical essays reflecting on her youth as a member of a poor, troubled Indian family. Discussion leader: Ron McFarland.
► Feb. 25: “Growing Up” by Russell Baker, the journalist’s real-life story demonstrates that despite hardships, the American Dream is actually possible. Discussion leader: Nancy Casey
March 25: “Hole in the Sky” by William Kittredge, who grew up on his family’s farm in southeastern Oregon where he felt a deep connection to the land and the cowboys who worked it. Discussion leader: Ron McFarland.
► April 22: “In the Wilderness” by Kim Barnes, a memoir about growing up in the isolated logging camps of North Idaho in the 1960s. Discussion leader: David Barber.
► May 27: “Refuge” by Terry Tempest Williams, an autobiographical account which chronicles a disruptive period in Williams’ life.
Information: 208-769-2315 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Patrons who need accommodation to participate in library programs or services are asked to contact the staff prior to the activity by calling 208-769-2315.

In just the past decade changing technology has influenced the services that are expected from libraries. The Coeur d’Alene Public Library wants to know how well we have responded and where improvement is needed.
During April library users are being asked how they use the technology at the library by responding to an online survey made available by the Information School at the University of Washington.
To participate go to the library website: and the survey link will appear automatically.
The Impact Survey is anonymous, available in English and Spanish, and takes 10-15 minutes to complete. Responses are confidential and the survey does not collect any personally identifiable information.
 The Impact Survey is the result of a successful research initiative from the University of Washington with support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. In 2009, the University of Washington Information School conducted “Opportunity for All: How the American Public Benefits from Internet Access at U.S. Libraries,” the first large-scale investigation of the ways U.S. library patrons use computers and the Internet at public libraries, why they use it, and how it impacts their lives.